Want to Beat the Heat? Eat. 

This weekend, my boyfriend Danny came down to visit me for the weekend. If you haven’t caught on by now, one of my favorite things to do is eat food–delicious food. I am extremely lucky in that Danny also loves to eat. So on a hot, steamy day in July in DC, we did some sightseeing, but mainly indulged our culinary side.

The chili was way too good !


We started the day with brunch at Busboys & Poets, my new favorite. I got the bagel and lox (and a mimosa–it is my day off people). Danny got the avocado panini, and we ended up sharing his bowl of chili. Busboys & Poets is now 3/3 for me; everything was absolutely perfect. After walking the uphill mile to the top of Eastern Avenue, we immediately needed a break, and Busboys fueled us for our afternoon.

We took the Metro to the Mall, and decided to check out the National Botanical Gardens. We enjoyed looking at the many succulents they had. My current travel dream is to visit Austin, Texas with Danny, so it was nice to get a little preview. After we got our fill of plants, we decided to brave the heat and humidity again. 

We weren’t ready for the weather though. Saturday was a SCORCHER. I wanted to try to go to to the Smithsonian Folklife Festival, but the heat was just too much to bear. Danny and I had dinner reservations for 5:00, so we made the call to take a cab to the restaurant early, and have a little happy hour to cool down.

We had made made reservations for the Old Ebbitt Grill, Washington’s oldest saloon, which was founded in 1856. Presidents such as Ulysses S. Grant, Andrew Johnson, Grover Cleveland, and Theodore Roosevelt have all supposedly eaten there. Ebbitt is also quite close to the White House. 

Strawberry Margarita and Wild Peach Tea


Happy hour was the right idea. Sweaty, thirsty, and miserable, we were directed to upstairs bar to relax as soon as we got to Ebbitt. We both opted for cocktails–I got a wild peach tea, while Danny got a strawberry margarita. Both were delicious.

I have to digress for a moment to talk about the craze that is gripping the nation: Pokemon Go. It is a gps-based game, where you walk around with a map open, and look for Pokemon in the real world. About 90% of the people in the bar, including my boyfriend, were playing it. If you were looking to invest in stock, I would suggest Nintendo. 

Anyway, back to the food. After collecting ourselves at the bar, it was time for dinner. Between 3:00 and 6:00 at Ebbitt there are half priced oysters, so Danny I opted for a half-dozen Summerside oysters. I got a glass of prosecco (it was recommended by the menu to pair this with the oysters), and Danny got a Flying Dog Bloodline Blood Orange Ale. I highly, highly recommend the oysters here. They are amazingly delicious. 

I did not want to share these at all…


For our main course, I ordered a lobster roll (though I wanted about 20 more oysters), and Danny got trout parmesan. Both were extremely good, especially my lobster roll. You actually get two rolls, which makes the price tag a little more worth it.

We worked hard for this dinner.


After stuffing ourselves, we decided that it was time to head back for Takoma for bed. The heat can definitely wear you out here, which makes going inside restaurants actually beneficial for your safety and health

Leave a Reply

